Dear guests and friends of the historical bratwurst restaurant “Zum Gulden Stern”
It is our firm belief that you deserve first-rate quality when you come to dine and enjoy a drink at our restaurant. The employees of the historical “Bratwurstküche” completely avoid convenience foodstuffs, which means:
Our authentic Nuremberg grilled sausages are produced to an age-old recipe by the city’s butchers and (without first boiling them in water or pre-frying them) we grill them freshly over a beechwood fire until they are cooked. We make our soups daily from scratch using potatoes, soup greens, bones and beef. Our potato salad is freshly prepared every day with potatoes sourced from farmers in Nuremberg’s renowned Knoblauchsland market farming area.
The Sauerkraut is the real thing produced by a local family (the Wehrs) in the Aischgrund region. They cultivate, shred and process the Sauerkraut and supply it in vats. By boiling and refining it, and adding melted pork lard, we give it an exquisite taste.
The Knoblauchsland farmers also supply our vegetables, potatoes, horseradish roots and lamb’s lettuce, the cream horseradish comes from the company Schamel in Baiersdorf where it is produced to a 150 year-old recipe and the Franconian wines we serve are bottled by the Fürstlich Castell‘sche Domänenamt, while others are sourced from the Bernhard Völker vineyard in Kitzingen.
It is very important to us that the family-run businesses in the region supply us. The staff of our historical bratwurst restaurant would like to wish you a “bon appétit” and hope you enjoy your dining experience with us!
History of the historical bratwurst restaurant
“Zum Gulden Stern” going back to 1419
The Original One
Zirkelschmiedsgasse: the cobbled street on which Nuremberg’s leading bratwurst kitchen stood way back when, was originally known as “Auf dem Hohen Pflaster”. Today No. 26 is still home to Nuremberg’s leading bratwurst restaurant.
Besides the castle and the former St. Egidien Monastery, the area surrounding the St. Jacob Church belongs to Nuremberg’s earliest settlement hubs. Ownership of land surrounding the area forming the St. Lorenz Church parish has been vast and varied.
Originally the land belonged to the king and was usurped by the governor of the castle during the turmoil of the interregnum. In 1304 the then Castellan Conrad gifted the German Order with it. In the 15th century the Nuremburg Council took receipt of the Order’s dues to the new landowners for the sections of land that had been besieged in the interim.
|1419||It was in connection with these dues to the new landowners that the premises at No. 26 Zirkelschmiedsgasse, which was then known as "Auf dem hohen Pflaster", were documented for the first time. It was probably one of the first houses that was built around 1375. It comprises two houses and if dues had to be paid on each one then it would have generated: “all of 60 old German coins per year on Walpurgis night and on the Feast of St. Martin, as well as a hen for Shrovetide.” (It might not necessarily have been the fattest hen.)The city of Nuremberg tried to limit the number of taverns and eateries that had sprung up during the Thirty Years’ War. Once again No. 26 Zirkelschmiedsgasse was in the spotlight making history.|
|1640||The “Zum Gulden Stern” tavern and eatery was categorised as an upscale eating house.|
|1641||It was awarded the rarely accorded right to carry out the slaughtering of pigs on-site.|
|1740||On being accorded the vintner license, the town’s beverage levy authority was permitted to have a wine warehouse.|
|1980||Martin Hilleprandt acquired the premises with a “Demolition License“. The oldest – and arguably one of the most stunning – eating houses in Nuremberg was saved and restored thanks to the aid of the friends of the old town.|
|The gap between the Middle Ages and the present day
has been successfully bridged.
How To Find Us
The historical bratwurst restaurant “Zum Gulden Stern” is ideally located in the old historical part of the city only 200 meter from the iconic Weissen Turm or White Tower – the Parkhaus Jakobsmarkt, a multi-storey car park is directly opposite.
There are a whole range of tourist attractions in close proximity to it e. g. the “Ehekarussell”, a magic merry-go-round fountain, the Germanic National Museum, the “Strasse der Menschenrechte” or the “Way of Human Rights”, the Transport Museum and the Opera House, as well as the city’s large pedestrian and shopping precincts. There are also underground connections in every direction: Plärrer, Weisser Turm and Opernhaus.
The multi-storey car park is directly opposite (simply follow the signs to Parkhaus Jakobsmarkt) and we are 10 minutes away from the main train station, the Hauptbahnhof. Also easy to reach via motorway or Frankenschnellweg.
Seating for 150 people plus an additional 70 in the beer garden. To avoid disappointment a reservation is essential!
Zum Gulden Stern
90402 Nürnberg, Germany
Tel. +49(0)911 / 20 59 288
Fax +49(0)911 / 20 59 298
Historische Bratwurstküche „Zum Gulden Stern"
Owner: Martin Hilleprandt
Tel. +49 (0)911 20 59 288
Fax +49 (0)911 20 59 298
Value Added Tax Identification Number (VAT ID): DE 132546256
Tax Office No.: 240/228/80124
This website uses aspects of YAML
"Original Nürnberger Röstla"
“Original Nürnberger Röstla” means the original Nürnberger grilled bratwurst
- is sourced from a Nuremberg butcher’s
- is placed on the grill raw and grilled over an open beechwood fire until done (not deep-fried or pre-boiled in water beforehand)